How to be Greener in Dungeons and Dragons

Posted on November 15, 2012 by

0


Yeah, I’m doing it. I’m being that guy. But in all honesty, environmentalism is a concern of mine. I may not be a perfect environmentalist, but I try and embrace it as best I can, and in everything I do. Still, RPGs are a hurdle for a struggling eco-friendly person.

Playing a druid for every game doesn’t count.

I can’t find much written on the subject. I can definitely find a lot written on D&D and environment, but that’s a completely different subject, and one for another time. For now, some tips on how to be more environmentally conscious while still enjoying your game. Spoilers: Many of these tips will save you money, as well!

1. Bike, bus, or carpool to your next game.

Carpooling is fun!

Unless your group lives together in a strange, Pelor worshiping commune, you probably need to get to the weekly game. Instead of taking individual cars, agree to have one driver pick up the group! If it’s a long commute, the group can all chip in for gas. Alternatively, you can try biking, walking, or taking the bus. For a while I would bike to my friend’s apartment to DM a game, with all my books, minis, and even Ipod dock strapped to the back of my bike! Speaking of which…

2. Only buy the minis you need.

Yeah, this is definitely one of those pieces of advice that I need to take. Collecting D&D minis is one of my favorite parts of the physical aspect to D&D. I have spent hours, and a decent amount of dollars, shopping for zombies, giants, and spiders. But maybe, after you have a working set of generic and different sized minis, it’s time to just let them represent different monsters. It’ll save on shipping, plastics, and, this most of all, cash.

It also might save your chances of sealing the deal.*

3. Only buy a few Dungeon Tile sets.

Another thing I love collecting. I love Dungeon Tiles, even if they aren’t always useful, and sometimes more work than they’re worth to set up. I love the immersion they, along with minis, bring to the game. Still, buying the Dungeon Masters set for the Dungeon, Outside, and City works for most encounters. Same as above, it’ll save on paper, shipping, and money. You can still use mats and pens, or even graph paper!

4. Only buy the books you need.

And get a D&D insider subscription. Inside of buying every sourcebook that comes out, just buy a few necessary monster manuals (If you only had one hard-copy D&D 4th edition book, I would suggest the Monster Vault, hands down), and maybe the rules compendium. Classes, powers, feats, and items can all be found online, as well as rules, traps, and encounter ideas. This will also save you the trouble of looking through every book you own to find the right feats. On the other hand…

5. Reuse characters sheets.

And make them by hand. The character generator is fantastic, fast, and efficient for making characters, but it usually involves printing out 8 pages every time you level up. in some games this can be every two or three sessions. Instead, go old-school: Copy your character sheet onto actual paper, then update it when you level up. After a few levels you may need to complete replace it due to eraser smudges, but it’ll still save you tons of paper overall, not to mention printer-ink.

Via The Oatmeal.

All in all, I don’t think it’s too difficult to be a more environmentally friendly D&Der (except for the temptation to buy the tiny plastic monsters). It’ll save you money and save the world! Now that’s being Good aligned!

…sorry.

*Picture credit: Spilth on Flickr. No offense intended. It is an excellent gaming room. And, Kord’s balls, I write for a D&D blog.

Posted in: Casual